Join us for the American Democracy Conference in Charlottesville

Conference will be livestreamed next Thursday


Next Thursday, Jan. 24, the University of Virginia Center for Politics will host its 20th annual American Democracy Conference in Charlottesville.

The event will be held at Alumni Hall, 211 Emmet St. South, on the Grounds of the University of Virginia. It is free and open to the public with advanced registration, and members of the media are welcome to attend as well. We also will be livestreaming the conference at:

The schedule is as follows:

8:30 a.m. — Doors open

9 a.m. — Keynote address by former Gov. Terry McAuliffe (D-VA)

10 a.m. — Panel discussion on Donald Trump at the midterm of his presidency

Moderator: Christine Mahoney, Professor of Public Policy and Politics at UVA’s Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy


Paul Begala, Democratic strategist and CNN political analyst

Jamelle Bouie, New York Times opinion columnist and CBS News analyst

Kate Obenshain, former Republican Party of Virginia chairwoman and Fox News and CNBC analyst

David Ramadan, former Republican member of the Virginia House of Delegates

11:30 a.m. — Lunch provided by Center for Politics

Noon — Keynote address by Karl Rove, former deputy chief of staff to President George W. Bush

This is the second part of the Center’s 20th anniversary edition of the annual American Democracy Conference. The first part was held last November in Washington D.C. and featured remarks from Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX), House Intelligence Committee Chairman Adam Schiff (D, CA-28), and expert panels reacting to the midterm and looking ahead to 2020. A recording of that conference is available here.

The conference is being held in partnership with the University of Virginia’s Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy and is part of “Democracy in Perilous Times: Unprecedented Challenges and Controversies,” an ongoing program series organized by the Center for Politics and the Batten School for the 2018-2019 academic year as part of the National Symposium Series. Information on future programming can be found here.